Swirling Streams (2002) by Jorge Liderman
for guitar, clarinet, violin, viola, and cello
Earplay commission

Swirling Streams is a one movement work that oscillates between gradually unfolding streams of sound and whirling successions of events. Although the guitar and bass clarinet have a prominent role in the piece, the string trio actively interacts with the duo producing varied instrumental surfaces.

Swirling Streams is dedicated to David Tanenbaum, with whom I have collaborated on several occasions. It is also dedicated to Earplay bass clarinetist Peter Josheff, who has performed my music in the past and has shown a great interest in a new piece for this instrumental combination.

— J. L.    

[from program for May 24, 2010 concert]