Suite from Dancing with the Shadow (1993) by Eleanor Alberga
for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and percussion
West Coast premiere

I composed Dancing with the Shadow as a 30 minute work in 5 sections, for the choreographer Sue McLennan. The first movement is a duo, the second a trio and so on, culminating in a sextet. Although there is some recurrence of ideas linking the movements, they were each intended to stand as separate entities. The suite was adapted from sections I, IV and V. The title suggests the conscious acceptance of the darker sides of the human psyche to create transformation and unity.

— E. A.    

[from program for May 21, 2007 concert]