Works performed by Earplay:

Dusk Music
Dusk Music II
Familial Banter
Late Year Music
Local Colloquies
Meeting Again the First Time One More Time
Reciprocal Tapestries
Two and Four
Urban Green
Winter Canticles

Mark Winges was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and currently resides in San Francisco, where he has been resident composer / advisor for the chamber choir Volti since 1990. He was also composer-in-residence for the San Francisco Choral Artists in the 2012-2013 season. He is a graduate of the College-Conservatory of Music - University of Cincinnati, SFSU, and has studied at the Musikhögskolan in Stockholm, Sweden with composer Arne Mellnäs.

Gramophone magazine has characterized his music as "Stylistically adventurous in setting, but strongly beholden to conventional means". SF Classical Voice describes him as "a composer with the skill and self-confidence to write music that is clear, direct, and at times even simple, but not at all simple-minded". Mark has had residencies at the MacDowell Colony, Fundación Valparaiso (Mojácar, Spain), and the Ragdale Foundation.

Recent pieces include The Moon Dreams of Jacqueline for string quartet and four solo voices, commissioned by the San Francisco Friends of Chamber Music for the Friction Quartet, and Leaves from Diana's Tree for soprano and piano quartet, premiered by the Empyrean Ensemble in December. His most recent large-scale work is Breath & Hammers, a concerto for piano and wind ensemble, which was premiered this past October by Blaise Bryski and the Cornell University Wind Ensemble conducted by James Spinazzola. His Pandora's Gift, a 35 minute staged work for two choirs on a libretto of poet Denise Newman with choreography by Erika Chong-Shuch and lighting by Allen Willner, was premiered at Zspace in San Francisco in May, 2015. More information is on his website.

[from program for April 30, 2018 concert]