Works performed by Earplay:

Brief Encounters
Duo for Violin and Piano
Freedom and Love
Scherzo for Mixed Quartet
A Three Piece Suite
Tympan Alley

Wayne Peterson (b. 1927) was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in Music in 1992 for the San Francisco Symphony commission The Face of the Night, The Heart of the Dark, crowning a distinguished career which includes a catalog of more than 60 works and numerous fellowships and awards. He has been honored by the Guggenheim, Koussevitzky, Fromm, and Gerbode Foundations in addition to the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

Peterson has been a Professor of Music at San Francisco State University for more than three decades and has also been active as a guest composer at universities across the country. He was guest Professor of Composition at Stanford University from 1992-1994; other guest teaching positions have included those at Indiana University, Brandeis University, and the University of Minnesota. The Wayne Peterson Prize, awarded annually for outstanding musical excellence in composition, was established in his honor by San Francisco State University in 1998.

[from program for May 24, 2010 concert]